Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Board of Directors

About the Board of Directors

The Board is the association’s public face, representing members in matters of policy, laboratory practice and collaboration with health partners in the public and private sectors.


As the governing body of the association, the APHL Board of Directors establishes the strategic direction and priority initiatives of the organization and ensures that annual goals are met.

The Board of Directors is comprised of the president, president-elect, secretary-treasurer, immediate past president, two public health local institutional member representatives, a public health associate institutional member representative and three elected members-at-large. The president serves as chairperson of the Board of Directors, and the executive director is an ex-officio member.

The board meets monthly by conference call and quarterly in person. It manages the association’s strategic planning process and provides financial oversight for the organization. Its meeting schedule is public, and any member may request to be included on the agenda at any time. 

APHL Board of Directors, 2014 - 2015

Dan Rice, DrPH, MS, president
laboratory director, New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets

Judith C. Lovchik, PhD, D(ABMM), president-elect
assistant commissioner, Laboratory Services Indiana State Department of Health

Christopher G. Atchison, MPA, secretary-treasurer
laboratory director, State Hygenic Laboratory at the University of Iowa
Ewa King, PhD, member-at-large
laboratory director, Rhode Island State Health Laboratories

A. Chris Whelen, PhD, D(ABMM) member-at-large
laboratory director, Hawaii Department of Health State Laboratories

Joanne Bartkus, PhD, D(ABMM) member-at-large

laboratory director, Minnesota Public Health Laboratory Division

Maria Lucia Ishida, PhD, public health associate institutional member representative

bureau chief, Florida Bureau of Food Laboratories

Mark Wade, local institutional member representative
laboratory services director, San Antonio Metro Health District Laboratory

Tamara "Tammy" Theisen, MT(ASCP), local institutional member representative
division director, Saginaw County Department of Public Health Laboratory

Christine Bean, PhD, MBA, MT(ASCP), immediate past president
laboratory director, New Hampshire Public Health Laboratories

Scott J. Becker, MS, ex-officio

executive director, Association Public Health Laboratories