2015 APHL Awards

APHL's recognition program honors the unsung heroes of public health.


Congratulations to the 2015 APHL Award recipients!

Photo of All 2014 APHL Award Winners at APHL Annual Meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas

APHL’s annual Awards Program highlights some of the outstanding achievements in laboratory science, creative approaches being made to solve today’s public health challenges and exemplary support of laboratories serving the public’s health. APHL Award honorees are recognized at an awards luncheon held in conjunction with APHL’s Annual Meeting. Newborn Screening Award recipients are honored at the Newborn Screening and Genetic Testing Symposium.

Award Descriptions and Past Winners

Willie Andrews, Winner of the 2013 APHL Gold Standard Award for Public Health Laboratory Excellence, June 4, 2013 

Lifetime Achievement Award
Presidential Award
Champion of the Public Health Laboratory Award
Gold Standard for Public Health Laboratory Excellence Award
Silver Award
Emerging Leader Award
On the Front Line Award
Thomas E. Maxson Education, Training and Workforce Development Award
Healthiest Laboratory Award

Online Nominations - Award nominations are due by Monday, February 29!

2015 APHL Awards 

Lifetime Achievement Award
All Other Award Nominations Form
To complete any of the above nomination forms, first save a copy of the form to your computer, then complete the nomination form offline. Email completed nominations to

Newborn Screening Awards

George Cunningham Visionary Award in Newborn Screening  

George Cunningham Visionary Award in Newborn Screening
Harry Hannon Laboratory Improvement Award