​Introducing the 2017 Antimicrobial Resistance Fellows​

This year APHL recruited the inaugural cohort of the APHL-CDC Antimicrobial Resistance Fellowship. Selected fellows will work in state public health laboratories to address the growing threat of antimicorbial resistance (AR) while collaborating with public health partners on a range of AR issues.

The fellowship had two tracks for the 2017 class - the AR Lab Network Track and the Drug Resistant Tuberculosis Track. Fellows in the AR Lab Network Track will work at CDC and the regional laboratories of the Antimicrobial Resistance Laboratory Network to provide comprehensive laboratory capacity for a variety of AR pathogens to allow for better prevention, detection and response. The Fellow participating in the TB Track will work with public health leaders to perform and apply conventional culture-based and cutting edge molecular methods to identify and control drug resistant TB outbreaks. 

The 2017 AR Fellows and Host Laboratory Assignments​

  • AR Lab Network Track
    • Eric Ransom, PhD - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    • Lisa Leung, PhD - Maryland Public Health Laboratory
    • Jennifer Dale, PhD - Minnesota Department of Health Public Health Laboratory
    • Victoria Stone, PhD - Tennessee State Public Health Laboratory
    • Alesha Stewart, PhD - Texas Department of State Health Services Laboratory
    • Ayodele Ojebode, MPH - Wadsworth Center, New York Department of Health
    • Emily Snavely, PhD - Wadsworth Center, New York Department of Health
    • Mimi Precit, PhD - Washington State Public Health Laboratories
    • Nicholas Florek, PhD - Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene
  • TB Track
    • Marisabel Etter, PhD - Microbial Diseases Laboratory of the California Department of Public Health
FellowPicture_GroupTwoSmall(2).jpg             FellowPicture_GroupOneSmall.jpg
Left to right: Precit, Leung, Stewart, Florek and Snavely           Left to right: Ojebode, Dale, Etter, Ransom, Stone