​​​​​​​​​The Board is the association’s public face, representing members in matters of policy, laboratory practice and collaboration with health partners in the public and private sectors.

As the governing body of the association, the APHL Board of Directors establishes the strategic direction and priority initiatives of the organization and ensures that annual goals are met.

The Board of Directors is comprised of the president, president-elect, secretary-treasurer, immediate past president, two public health local institutional member representatives, a public health associate institutional member representative and three elected members-at-large. The president serves as chairperson of the Board of Directors, and the executive director is an ex-officio member.

The board meets monthly by conference call and quarterly in person. It manages the association’s strategic planning process and provides financial oversight for the organization. Its meeting schedule is public, and any member may request to be included on the agenda at any time.

APHL Board of Directors, 2019 - 2020


Grace E. Kubin, PhD
Laboratory director, Texas Department of State Health Services-Central Campus


Bill Whitmar, MS
Laboratory director, Missouri State Public Health Laboratory


Dr. Daphne Ware, PhD
Laboratory director, Mississippi Public Health Laboratory

Members-at-Large (State Institutional Member Representatives)

Richard Steece, PhD, D(ABMM)
Laboratory director, Tennessee Division of Laboratory Services

Denise Marie Toney, PhD, HCLD(ABB)
Laboratory director, Virginia Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services

Anthony "Tony" Tran, DrPH, MPH, D(ABMM)
Laboratory director, District of Columbia Public Health Laboratory

Public Health Associate Institutional Member Representative​​

Maria Lucia Ishida, PhD
Laboratory director, New York State Department of Agriculture & Markets

Local Institutional Member Representative​​s

Megan Crumpler, PhD
Laboratory director, Orange County Public Health Laboratory

​Mark Wade
Laboratory​ services director, San Antonio Metro Health District Laboratory


Joanne Bartkus, PhD, D(ABMM)
Laboratory director, Minnesota Public Health Laboratory Division


Scott J. Becker, MS
Cheif executive officer, APHL